How has stamp duty changed?

Chancellor Kwasi Kwarteng’s ‘mini-budget’ on 23rd September announced permanent stamp duty cuts for some home-buyers.

Stamp duty is a tax payable to the government when you buy a home, or land, priced above a certain threshold in England or Northern Ireland.

Previously, you would pay stamp duty tax on a home, or the portion of a home, priced between £125,001 and £250,000. Following today’s announcement, no stamp duty is payable below the price threshold of £250,000.

This means a third of all homes currently for sale (33%) are now completely exempt from stamp duty in England, compared to 7% when the threshold was £125,000.

Before the mini-budget announcement, first-time buyers paid no stamp duty on the first £300,000 of a home purchase. This has now been raised to £425,000. And if the home you’re buying is priced below £625,000, you’ll still pay no stamp duty on the portion of the property priced below £425,000, and 5% on the portion priced above this. This is an increase of £125,000 on the previous price cap of £500,000.

These changes reduce stamp duty bills across the board for all home-movers by up to £2,500, and by up to £11,250 for first-time buyers.

And two thirds of homes (66%) in England are now exempt from stamp duty for first-time buyers.

What are the stamp duty rates now?

Stamp duty tax bands from 23 Sept 2022Normal rateFirst-time buyersRate
Up to £250,0000%Up to £425,0000%
£250,001 to £925,0005%£425,001 to £625,0005%
£925,001 to £1.5 million10%Homes priced above £625,000Normal rates apply
Over £1.5 million12%

**Credits to

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: